Study on the above topic will help most hawkers. For example, cost components for average hawker stall and other information conducted by Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) is important (ref. 1).
It suggested that raw material played the most cost for average hawkers, whereas rental contributed about 12% and utility at 9.3% (both at 21.3%).
As mentioned previously, the average cost of rental is $1500 with a range of $5 to $5000 (as offered bids; ref. 2). If a business operates daily without rest, then this translates to $1500/30=$50 per day from rental. Assume 12% rental cost is true, then total cost is $50/0.12 = $416. If daily total cost is true, then the cost of utility and rental would be $416 * 0.21 = $87.36. If raw material is approximately 60%, the cost is $416 * 0.6 = $250. Daily, a hawker would be spending $337.36. The rest is manpower and other service fees at approximately 20% (which is variable, because manpower could be business owner’s fixed salary and other service fees are variable).
To break-even, a business needs to achieve $337.36. If a bowl of product is $3, then the business owner needs 113 bowls per day. Subsequent bowls would be operating profit.
If I am to start a business in a location selling a dish, I will first determine the following:
Average footfall in the location per day (and especially compared during weekends)
Average peak time per day in hour.
Number of competitors
Average price of similar product around the location
Type of customers, e.g. workers, students, or other market segment.
Other marketing strategies.
Operations consideration, e.g. storage, freezers, footprint (sqm), process area (or kitchen), payment method (cash or cashless), and stall service provider (their efficiency), stall hygiene level (study the NEA awarded hygiene level, should be above Silver level; ref. 3)
Bidding is a process where the person with the highest price wins the thing that is offered.
National Environmental Agency (NEA) of Singapore is body that offer the tender for bidders (ref. 1).
Bidding is susceptible to spikes and outliers, e.g. a lady who bidded $10,028 per month for a hawker stall to sell drink. According to NEA, the average price is $1,500 within a range of $5 to $5,000 (ref. 3). This would mean that the rental is $1,500 +/- 20% or from$1,200 to $1,800. That is considered very high for a stall.
It is also susceptible to those bidders who are out to win the bid and then sublet or assign the winning at higher price to others. NEA said they ensured that sublet and reassignment are not allowed, but did not elaborate how they will monitor and control this.
CNA highlighted an article about profit margin of hawker. The piece was written by a Fishball noodle seller, who claimed that a bowl of his Fishball noodle had only 20-30 cents profit margin.
There was no sharing of his cost breakdowns, revenue and other financial data to help readers. For example, operating revenue is revenue – all costs. Costs included cost of goods sold (direct cost) and indirect costs (e.g. rental, utility and others).
If Desmond wanted to know his net profit, he would need to discount any loan interest, and subsequently income tax. That would be his net profit!
Profit is subjective
Desmond Ng does not represent all Fishball noodle sellers. That is because, to be a successful business owner, you have to be resourceful. That said, you need to reduce costs (either by sourcing for suppliers and drafting long-term contractual agreement with them), and operate more efficiently.
Instead of lamenting low profit margin, he should be differentiating his product. If he can differentiate his product to be more than just Fishball Noodle, he will be able to price his value-added plate higher.
Instead, he is attributing customers as the main reason his profit margin is low. His reasoning that customers are reluctant to pay more is flawed. Customers compare and select. If there are other Fishball noodle sellers selling at a particular price, they expect the price to be within that range, else they have avenue to select and abandon those who priced more. That is what supply and demand works.
To be able to assess and analyse the claim that hawkers’ profit margin is low, I have to get into the industry myself.
Tradtional white bread should be soft and once toasted, good candidate for butter and kaya. This setup will complement with soft-boiled egg (softer than poached egg). Such setup is best for typical Singaporean breakfast.
2 packages of 0.25 oz active dry yeast
3 tbsp white sugar
2 1/2 cups warm water (45oC)
3 tbsp margarine/butter
1 tsp salt (or to taste)
6 1/2 cups bread flour
in large bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water
stir in margarine/butter, 2 cups flour
stir in remaining flour gradually
when dough has pulled together, turn it out onto lightly floured surface
knead dough until smooth and elastic, 8 min
lightly oil large bowl, place in and turn to coat with oil
cover with damp cloth and rest in warm place until doubled in volume, 1 hr
dflate the dough and turn it out onto lightly floured surface
divide dough into two equal pieces and form into loaves
place them in lightly greased loaf pans
cover loaves with damp cloth and let rise until double in volume, approx 40 min
preheat oven to 220oC
bake at 190oC, 30 min until the top is golden brown and the bottom of the loaf sounds hollow when tapped